The Martian by Andy Weir

Rating: 4/5 stars

Summary: Mark Watney has been stranded on Mars, and to survive, he must pull out every ounce of genius in his body. Practically everything that could go wrong, does go wrong for Watney, but with a little duct tape and a few hundred potatoes, he just might make it.

My Thoughts: So I admittedly did see the movie first, but who cares, now I like both the book and the movie. I loved the realistic feel and the format (journal entries and switching third person). I loved Watney as a character. He definitely made me crack up.

It’s wasn’t perfect, by any means, though. I felt the story eventually became a tad formulaic (something goes horribly wrong, he fixes it), and that’s when the book started to drag for me.

Overall, I’m glad I finally decided to read it, and I’d recommend it to anyone who likes science fiction.

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

