First Year (The Black Mage Book 1) by Rachel E. Carter

Rating: 4/5 stars

Summary: Ryiah and her brother, Alex, start an exciting chapter in their lives when they start training at The Academy. Ryiah chooses to study Combat with her friend, Ella, while Alex chooses Restoration. While training, Ryiah will face hardships as she’s never known before, and not all will be about strengthening her magic or history skills. The non-heir Prince Darren is also causing a lot of issues for her, not the least of which is that he is so much better at Combat than her.

My Thoughts: I first read this book two years ago, but re-read it today so that I can refresh my memory in preparation for (finally!) reading the last of the series.

I love this book. Even though the plot isn’t as complicated as Harry Potter and it’s not even really trying to be HP, this book reminds me a lot of it. Maybe it’s because of the schooling aspect, but in any case, I love the friendships and Ry’s training. Nothing comes easy for her, and her hard work is a lot of the reason this book is so good.

I do have one issue with the book, though, and that is that I didn’t like how out-of-the-loop I felt with the magic system. It went pretty quickly from her conjuring fire to more complicated magic, but it wasn’t explained how as much as I would have liked.

If you haven’t checked this book out, I really recommend it!

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

