Thursday Thoughts

Thursday Thoughts is about whatever I feel like ranting or raving about this week. The only stipulation is that it’s about books and writing.

This week I want to talk about a issue I’ve seen in a lot of books: continuing an emotion. I cannot stand it when a character is angry at another, and then the next scene, it’s all forgotten. The character’s anger is dissipated, but mine is not.

I don’t know about you, but I read books to feel the emotions of the main character, and part of that is having a good flow of emotion. Emotions should flow into another logically. If the character is sad, it completely takes me out of the story when that same character is able to have fun in the next scene. Does that make sense?

I see this too many times in books, and a lot of those times, it makes me put the book down, sometimes permanently.

If you’re a writer, my advice as a reader is to continue an emotion until the character has a reason to change. Even if weeks or months past after an emotion is established, continue that emotion because it has not been that long for the reader.

What do you think about this issue? Does it make you irrationally angry as it does me?

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

