Alex, Approximately by Jenn Bennett

Rating: 4/5 stars

Summary: Bailey, aka Mink, is moving this summer to her Dad’s place in California, which also happens to be the same place her online best friend lives. She decides not to tell him so she can scope out their compatibility for herself. But first she has to find him, which proves harder than expected, especially when she’s so distracted by the irritatingly handsome Porter Roth.

My Thoughts: This book was really well-written. It truly impressed me. I keep thinking about how the sex scenes were handled, and it’s actually everything I hope for in a clean novel. Obviously, not explicit, but well-written so that you know what happens. It just reads like an 18-year old. I don’t know how to explain it, but I thought that a lot during this book. It just feels like a realistic teen romance. Not that it’s immature or anything, but Bennett superbly captures the essence of a first love. Like I said, it’s truly impressive.

And the story kept me engaged throughout. The romance was really sweet, and I loved its progression. The plot, though, is where I felt this book lagged a bit. I wasn’t a huge fan of one plot-line where a lot of the conflict came from. I also felt the ending wasn’t as satisfying as I would have hoped.

All that said, this is definitely a must-read YA book this year. You’ll laugh out loud and feel all the feels.

 

 

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

