Swear on This Life by Renee Carlino

Rating: 4/5 stars

Summary: Emiline is dealing with life just fine as a writing professor and hopefully a full-fledged writer soon. She’s got a best friend for a roommate and a boyfriend, who albeit won’t fully commit, but is very sweet nonetheless. When her best friend suggests she read the new best-seller, it only takes her a sentence to reach the devastating conclusion that it’s about her own life with childhood love, Jase. But it’ll take her the whole book to realize it’ll change the rest of her life.

My Thoughts: Let me start off by saying this was definitely well-written. I actually enjoyed the dual storylines, past and present. And that’s saying something because a lot of times, I either skim or skip past flashback sections of a book. Now that I think back on the book, I think I actually liked the parts about the past better than the present.

However, this book wasn’t as emotionally satisfying as I would have hoped. I didn’t particularly enjoy the main character’s reunion and the end in general. I think my main problem is that I didn’t really get to know the main characters as adults. I really connected and enjoyed reading about them as kids, but hardly any time is spend fleshing out their characters as adults. In fact, the only bits seen of Jase don’t show him in the best of light.

Overall, I still liked this book and recommend it, but I was definitely disappointed in the ending.

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

